Thursday, Aug. 03, 2006 - 10:58 a.m.

Work / Sofa. Yes, it is that exciting.


Nothing good can come of being the manager of a project when one is:
A. the most junior member involved, and
B. Half the team are based in Tokyo and don't feel the need to respond to any emails, let alone do any actual work.

My CEO is ready to kill me because the project is now so behind schedule. I've been working 15+ hour days trying to cover off everyone else's ignored input. Ever tried building a website in Japanese despite a complete lack of Japanese and having a computer that randomly refuses to actually display Japanese characters? Copy + Paste is my friend.

I really don't mind working long hours, but Jay-sus, I have never worked in a company where when you ask for something the first answer is always No, it's not my job or I don't have time this month, so I stay working until 10 or 11 pm and watch them swan out of the office at 4.55. They seem to interpret the role of project manager as You do the entire project rather than me ensuring they all deliver their contribution correctly and on time.

Now, what did I do with the job section of Saturday's Pravda?

[/whine]


But I can distract myself from the work stresses with the thought that sometime this afternoon my sofa is being delivered. Hurrah! I have had an armchair for a couple of weeks, but I think Spaceboy is a bit tired of being relegated to the camp chair.

Having been ordered and paid for 7 weeks ago, and therefore the cost no longer appearing on my credit card bill, it's almost like winning the sofa lottery. So I have a date with New Sofa and House repeats tonight. Bliss.

back - fore


Stuff what is good and makes me happy: - Saturday, Dec. 20, 2008
Not really an update. - Monday, Jan. 22, 2007
Don't know when I'll be back again. - Sunday, Dec. 10, 2006
- - Tuesday, Nov. 21, 2006
The drugs don't work. - Monday, Oct. 23, 2006


details
voyeurism
self-indulgence for all





-->