Monday, Oct. 10, 2005 - 1:45 p.m.

Welcome to the world.


I was going to write a long entry about the seething pit of resentment that I am when it comes to my sister, but it turns out to be a nicer day than that.

The lovely V had her baby this morning, a boy, Matthew Jack, weighing in at 6lbs, and mum and bub are both perfectly healthy. Hurrah. I can�t wait to see them later in the week.

Whenever my friends have children (which seems to happen at an alarming rate) I am awed by their ability to commit to something so big and life-changing. V and I were talking about a workmate who has two kids, and I couldn�t quite put my finger on what wasn�t quite right about her situation; V summed it up that she gets / gives no joy from her boys. That really made an impression on me, and made me realise that V and her partner have made this baby to bring more joy into their lives, to share the joy that they have between themselves. And that definitely falls into Good Things.


The baby blanket is in the very final stages (only weaving-in ends and a wash to go) despite my dire predictions that the child would be at university before I got the darn thing finished.

back - fore


Stuff what is good and makes me happy: - Saturday, Dec. 20, 2008
Not really an update. - Monday, Jan. 22, 2007
Don't know when I'll be back again. - Sunday, Dec. 10, 2006
- - Tuesday, Nov. 21, 2006
The drugs don't work. - Monday, Oct. 23, 2006


details
voyeurism
self-indulgence for all





-->