Monday, Jun. 06, 2005 - 8:13 p.m.

Reading.


Whilst I was away, sitting with my Dad while he slept in hospital, I re-read a book I bought when I was 20 years old, and very much loved. I had a bit of a wanker tendency in those days (oh, hang on, I still do it) to underline passages that I liked or thought were important or meaningful or whatever.

In this book, (Cat�s Eye, Margaret Atwood) I had underlined just twenty two words in 421 pages:

"I remember all those Mediaeval paintings, the hand raised, open to show there is no weapon: Go in peace. Dismissal, and blessing."

I wonder why that was so important to me then.

If I�d had a pen handy, I could have underlined half the book this time around.

back - fore


Stuff what is good and makes me happy: - Saturday, Dec. 20, 2008
Not really an update. - Monday, Jan. 22, 2007
Don't know when I'll be back again. - Sunday, Dec. 10, 2006
- - Tuesday, Nov. 21, 2006
The drugs don't work. - Monday, Oct. 23, 2006


details
voyeurism
self-indulgence for all





-->