Tuesday, Sept. 19, 2006 - 12:39 p.m.

The return of the mixed metaphor.


Why do I get so much thinking done whilst driving? Surely I should be concentrating on the traffic and not hitting anything and not exceeding the speed limit. But most trips to the office are taking 2.5 hours lately, and that�s a lot of time alone with myself and my synapses. Somehow being encased in my car, with my music and my own space so defined, I become rather introspective.

So, this morning, I was thinking about how goddamn good everything has been lately. How I feel like I�ve shaken off a self that wasn�t working at all.

I was imagining my life as a structure made of Lego. Here I lean to being euphemistic, for the sake of the comfort of you, Dear Reader, but it�s my diary, yanno, and no-one makes you stop by here, but side-stepping stating the obvious prevails.

Over the last ten years my Lego life has exploded several times, multi-coloured bricks akimbo. And each time I have felt that the reconstruction was something out of my control. The first time everything came back together with too many sharp edges and whole structural components simply missing. Time the second, a similar re-organisation � a little harder, a little colder � with accompanying landing on the other side of the planet (when I probably should have stayed put for a bit).

But this time I have caught the falling Lego and built something both softer and more solid. This does not take away the pain of loss or the acute awareness of amputation; but I know now, I really know, that I can take anything the Chaos wants to throw at me.* This time I am taking back possession of the bricks, the blueprint and the outcome.


*Still, no more Shite for a while, eh?

back - fore


Stuff what is good and makes me happy: - Saturday, Dec. 20, 2008
Not really an update. - Monday, Jan. 22, 2007
Don't know when I'll be back again. - Sunday, Dec. 10, 2006
- - Tuesday, Nov. 21, 2006
The drugs don't work. - Monday, Oct. 23, 2006


details
voyeurism
self-indulgence for all





-->