Friday, Jul. 07, 2006 - 9:24 p.m.

One year.


The news coverage of 7/7 has made me quite teary today. I know it�s not that I was affected personally by those horrible events, but because my Dad died the next day. Just watching people sad and grieving on telly is starting to set me off.

The first anniversary is always the worst. How can a whole year have gone by? How did the world keep turning? But it did keep turning, and I�m sitting in the flat that my Mum and Dad made possible for me.

This time a year ago I was grateful my flatmates got through the day unscathed, though both were only a couple of tubes behind the ones that blew up, and a bit excited because the Canadian boy I was having a fling with was flying in the next morning. I couldn�t have imagined that this is where I�d be a year later.

Tomorrow I will play some Johnny Cash, and if the lawn bowls club in the park behind my flat are playing I'll watch for a while, and find a Catholic church where I can go light a candle � I�m not quite up to doing a mass.

I miss you, Dad.

back - fore


Stuff what is good and makes me happy: - Saturday, Dec. 20, 2008
Not really an update. - Monday, Jan. 22, 2007
Don't know when I'll be back again. - Sunday, Dec. 10, 2006
- - Tuesday, Nov. 21, 2006
The drugs don't work. - Monday, Oct. 23, 2006


details
voyeurism
self-indulgence for all





-->