Tuesday, Dec. 27, 2005 - 11:54 a.m.

Yea Gods! I had a lovely Christmas.


I did make the right choice to not celebrate it this year. The more I talked about wanting to spend it on my own easier it became. My natural inclination would be to not talk about that kind of thing at all, but when I spoke to people who�d had deaths in their family, almost all said they didn�t do the first Christmas following, and my family didn�t after my brother and my mum. Even my twin brother chose to stay at home alone rather than do the day with his girlfriend�s family, other people�s families being too stark a reminder.

So I played lots of non-festive music and sang too loudly and watched DVDs and made myself a very nice chrissie dinner1 and sweet calls and messages from Those Wot Matter, and I was perfectly happy.

Possibly the first chrissie I�ve done without the Traditional Christmas Stress Arguments or my own or my in-laws� family politics running rampant. Maybe the only way to keep my sharp tongue in check until I�ve rid myself of that carapace once and for all is to sequester myself for the duration2.

I did accept an invitation to spend Christmas Eve with friends who took in a ragged bunch for the evening � I�ve known the woman who invited me for about six months, but only just found out that she�s Jewish. The perfect answer to the Xmas problem � spend the festive hours with non-christians! (Not that I�m given to hanging out with people who identify as Christians, butyaknowwhatimean). Must make more of an effort to make some Muslim friends for next year. And Boxing Day out to dinner with those in need of escape from their own suffocating family atmospheres.

Best chrissie present evah: Footloose on DVD from the Ex. There's something so lovely about gifts which say I know and remember what makes you giggle that beats any extravagance.

And now there�s a dusting of snow outside, and hopefully more to come, so I can sit quietly and watch it fall.


1OK, a nod to the season. And bless Marks&Sparks for making portions small enough for one (though, technically, serves 2 � 3 so there�s been traditional turkey leftovers for me for days!)
2The Thumper school of CBT.



Edit: 16.35 Snooowwwwww! wheeeeeeee!

back - fore


Stuff what is good and makes me happy: - Saturday, Dec. 20, 2008
Not really an update. - Monday, Jan. 22, 2007
Don't know when I'll be back again. - Sunday, Dec. 10, 2006
- - Tuesday, Nov. 21, 2006
The drugs don't work. - Monday, Oct. 23, 2006


details
voyeurism
self-indulgence for all





-->