Friday, Sept. 02, 2005 - 1:32 p.m.

Caution: social comment ahead.


I don�t usually write about The World in here (it�s all about me me me) but the New Orleans situation has got me a bit hot under the collar.

Articles like this serve to remind that most western societies are on the brink of anarchy should the "agreed" order be upset. Shoot to kill someone nicking a TV � get a grip America.

What�s really playing out here is people pushed to the limit by disparity of wealth � those who had cars left the city before the storms hit, the poor had to stay. In a society with massive differences between haves and have-nots disasters such as this throw that into an even starker light and the social contract breaks down.

Shoot these people? Well that�s a great lesson in what these people mean to their fellow citizens isn�t it � America can�t get food, transport or sanitary shelter to them, but it can send troops with big guns at the drop of a hat.

back - fore


Stuff what is good and makes me happy: - Saturday, Dec. 20, 2008
Not really an update. - Monday, Jan. 22, 2007
Don't know when I'll be back again. - Sunday, Dec. 10, 2006
- - Tuesday, Nov. 21, 2006
The drugs don't work. - Monday, Oct. 23, 2006


details
voyeurism
self-indulgence for all





-->